How is lightening generated?

To my understanding it’s a collision of both positive and negative ions. The charge is built up within clouds. Dust, cold air, hot air, rain, snow... the charge will balance electrons when met with the opposite charge resulting in lightning.

---

In a cloud small bits of ice bump into each other. These collisions create an a negative electric charge on the bottom of the cloud, causing a positive charge on the ground beneath the cloud. The charge coming up connects with a charge reaching down from the clouds and lightning strikes!