Which toy was invented by an engineer trying to keep equipment on ship stable?

The slinky is the result of an accident. In 1943, naval engineer Richard James was trying to develop a spring that would support and stabilize sensitive equipment on ships. When one of the springs accidentally fell off a shelf, it continued moving, and James got the idea for a toy.