What is fair to midland mean?

The phrase "fair to middling" is a term that dates back to the early 1800s. It was originally used to describe grades of quality in cotton, sheep, and other farm goods. The grades were fine, good, fair, middling, and poor. So you can see that "fair and middling" means average or only a little above.