How long does it take for a human to fall asleep?

According to sleep.org it’s normal to take 10 to 20 minutes to fall asleep once you climb into bed (this is called sleep latency). If it takes more or less time than that, then your body may be trying to tell you something. If it's taking over an hour, you may be suffering from insomnia.