Why is it called a bobby pin?

The bobby pin was invented by Luis Marcus, a San Francisco–based cosmetics manufacturer. After World War 1, it came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut" or "bobbed hair" took hold. Marcus thought about naming the pin after himself but he named them bobby after the bobbed hairstyle.