What was the vietnam war fought over?

The Vietnam War was considered a Cold War Proxy war of ideology between Communism and Capitalist Democracy. Communist North Vietnam was supported by China and the Russian Soviet Union while the Anti-Communist South was supported by the U.S. and other regional anti-communist states.