Do you cook on the shiny side or the dull side of tin foil?

The truth is that it doesn’t make a difference whether aluminum foil is used shiny side up or down. The variation is a result of the manufacturing process, The shiny side comes in contact with polished steel rollers, and the dull side doesn’t. The appearance has no effect on how the foil performs.