What is the meaning of taps?

Taps is a traditional bugle call used to signal lights out to troops. It is also played as a final farewell at funerals. The words to Taps are "Day is done. Gone the sun. From the lake, from the hills, from the sky. All is well, safely rest; God is nigh."