Can sharks see in the dark?

Shark eyes are equipped with a tapetum lucidum, a layer of mirrored crystals located behind the retina. This provides a means for light that initially escaped detection to be detected as it is passed through the retina a second time. They can see in very little light, but not pitch blackness.