What's the smallest animal that's ever lived?

Insects are part of the animal kingdom. The smallest insect known is the parasitic wasp, Dicopomorpha echmepterygis. Often called fairyflies, they measure only 0.005 inches long, smaller than the period at the end of a sentence.