Does dry rice go bad?

Rice has an indefinite shelf life if kept dry, and it is hard to tell if it has gone bad. Brown rice may become oily and give off a rancid odor because of its essential fatty acids that go bad as they oxidize.

---

When it comes to uncooked rice, it's usually easy to spot that it's bad. If you can see bugs or signs of mold, discard it. When the rice isn't dry, it means moisture found its way into the package and discarding the package seems to be the right thing to do. Funny odor is a sign of spoilage as well.