What is the plant nightshade?

Nightshade is a family of several plant species all with similar characteristics. Most people think of the poisonous varieties some 2000 plants which R part of this family.People do not realize tomatoes,potatoes,eggplant,all pepper plants are also nightshades. Never eat anything but the fruit!