What is a frisbee?

A frisbee is a concave plastic disk with a pronounced lip, designed to skim through the air when thrown. First sold in 1957 as a Pluto Platter the flying disc was renamed a "frisbee" as an homage to the Connecticut's Frisbie Pie Company's pie tins which were commonly thrown around in a similar way.