What does sun explode?

Scientists have conducted a lot of researches and study to estimate that the Sun is not going to explode for another 5 to 7 billion years. When the Sun does cease to exist,it will first expand in size and use up all the hydrogen present at its core & then eventually shrink down & become a dying star