What are hoagies and grinders?

Hoagies and grinders are a type of American cold or hot sandwich made from a cylindrical bread roll split lengthwise and filled with meats, cheeses, vegetables, and condiments. They can also be called a sub, hero, Italian, wedge, or a spuckie.