Why is a republican an elephant?

The elephant is a widely recognized symbol of the Republican Party. Made popular by cartoonist Thomas Nast, the Republican elephant first appeared in Harper's Weekly in 1874. Nast probably picked an elephant because of the old expression "to see the elephant," which means that you've seen everything