What is a turquoisw?

Turquoise is an opaque, blue-to-green mineral that is a hydrated phosphate of copper and aluminum. This semi-precious stone was so revered amongst the Native Americans that it was believed to have otherworldly powers of protection and strength for all those who wore it.