What is d. n. f. stand for?

DNFs. abbreviation for did not finish: an occasion when a runner, rider, driver, etc. who is competing in a race does not manage to finish the race: I felt like dropping out before the finish but I didn't want a DNF next to my name in the Olympic record books.