Does the shiny side of aluminum foil go up or down?

According to finecooking.com, people think it matters whether aluminum foil is used shiny side up or down, but the truth is it doesn't make a difference. The variation is a result of the manufacturing process—the shiny side comes in contact with polished steel rollers, and the matte side doesn't.