When was the very first movie?

The French artist and inventor Louis Le Prince recorded the earliest known motion picture in extant on 14 October 1888. The film, later known as Roundhay Garden Scene, was an actuality film that lasted 1.66 seconds and briefly depicted Le Prince's family in motion.