What is the history of a ouija board?

First mentions of the automatic writing method used in the ouija board is found in China around 1100 AD. The method was known as fuji or "planchette writing". The ouija itself was created and named in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1890, but the use of the talking boards was very common before.