How many nights are there between one and one hundred?

There are total 20 nine's between 1 and 100. 9, 19, 29, 39, 49, 59, 69, 79, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99. you can count total 9 in these series.