What was the first video game console ever invented?

In 1951 engineer Ralph H. Baer came up with the idea of the home video game console. The prototype for the first working console was in the 1960′s, but no manufacturers were willing to take on his idea. In 1972 US electronics company Magnavox released the Odyssey.

---

The Magnavox Odyssey was released in 1972