Who made the pickle?

Pickles were brought to the New World by Christopher Columbus, who is known to have grown cucumbers for the purpose of pickling on the island of Haiti. Cartier found cucumbers growing in Canada in 1535. In the sixteenth century, Dutch fine food fanciers cultivated pickles as a prized delicacies