How do you quickly soften a stick of butter?

One way to quickly soften a stick of butter is to pour very hot water in a glass or ceramic bowl that is big enough to cover a stick of butter. Wait 3-5 minutes, then dump out the water and place the bowl over the butter stick. This will soften the butter in a couple of minutes.