What is the traditional five year wedding anniversary gift?

The traditional five-year anniversary gift is wood, a symbol of strong roots and an enduring relationship. There are actually lots of really cool presents made out of natural wood, but if it's not really their thing, don't worry. Try turning to the modern fifth anniversary gift, which is silverware.