What does obsidian look like?

Obsidian, or volcanic glass, is usually black or dark green to brown, although certain mineral inclusions can give it colorful hues. It is shiny like smooth glass, feels dense, can be opaque or translucent, and has a circular curvature. Obsidian is sometimes confused with smoky quartz and onyx.