What is a putting stone?

If not a confusion with "puddingstone" or "pudding stone," a mixture of colorful pebbles in a cement matrix, the reference is presumably to the stone used in the Highland sport called the "stone put," similar to the shot put, but using a found stone or rock instead of a machined steel ball.