What year did the wright brothers first fly?

December 17, 1903, near Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, Orville and Wilbur Wright made the first successful flight in history of a self-propelled aircraft. Orville piloted the gasoline-powered, propeller-driven biplane, which stayed aloft for 12 seconds and covered 120 feet on its inaugural flight.

---

The Wright Flyer was the first successful heavier-than-air powered aircraft. It was designed and built by the Wright brothers in 1903.