How is clam chowder made?

Chowder is a type of soup or stew often prepared with milk or cream and thickened with broken crackers, crushed ship biscuit, or a roux. Variations of chowder can be seafood or vegetable. Add crackers such as oyster crackers or saltines as a side item, & cracker pieces may be dropped atop the dish.