How do you tell the difference between a raven and a crow?

Ravens ride the thermals and soar, whereas crows do more flapping. The raven's tail resembles a wedge, compared to the rounded fan-like shape of the crow's.

---

Ravens have bigger, curvier beaks relative to crows. While both species have bristles at the base of the beak, the raven's are noticeably longer. Its throat feathers are also quite shaggy. Common Ravens are much less common than American Crows in the Eastern United States.