Who is the precious?

In the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings: Gollum referred to the Ring as "my precious" or "precious", and it extended his life far beyond natural limits. Gollum serves as a symbol of how the ring can transform a decent person into a dirty, smelly, swamp creature. Gollum serves as a foil to Frodo.