How long does it take a body to decompose in water?

Times can vary. A body generally breaks down more slowly in water than in open air, but other factors can affect the rate of decomposition. You'll putrefy faster in warm, fresh, or stagnant water (a perfect breeding ground for bacteria) than in cold, salty, or running water.