What's the difference between presume and a sun?

Technically, presume and assume can mean the same thing. However, assume is typically used for facts that you don’t know for certain to be true, and presume is used when you make an assumption about a person. For example: I presumed I was welcome at Mandy’s house because I assumed she wasn’t busy.