Why did america get into the vietnam war?

Despite pleas from the Vietnamese to help rid them of colonial French Vichy-axis collaborators, the United States supported France against Vietnamese efforts to reunite their country; once the French were defeated, the United States fought against reunification efforts, under the guise of proxy-war.