Why do cats eat leaves?

Although cats are primarily carnivores, in the wild they also nibble on plants, for added nutrients or fiber, or perhaps just because they like the taste. ... In the home, cats sometimes eat houseplants out of boredom, or because they're attracted to the leaves fluttering in the air currents.