What is an eco region?

An ecoregion or ecozone is an ecologically & geographically defined area that is smaller than a bioregion, which in turn is smaller than a biogeographic realm. Ecoregions cover relatively large areas of land or water, and contain geographically distinct assemblages of natural communities & species.