Why do some eggs have two yolks?

A double yolk in an egg is caused by chicken releasing two yolks into the same shell instead of only one. This happens mainly with young chickens, since their reproductive systems have not fully matured yet. Double yolk eggs are perfectly safe to eat, and (on superstitious side) also consider lucky.

---

the working theory is that they are forged when ovulation occurs too rapidly or when one yolk catches up with another slow-moving yolk in a hen's oviduct. There are two different kinds of chickens that most commonly lay an egg with two yolks.