How do you break obsidian in minecraft?

To collect obsidian, a diamond pickaxe or better must be used. It takes 250 seconds to break an obsidian block by hand, and 21.85-125 seconds to break it with a pickaxe weaker than diamond or netherite, although neither will yield any obsidian.