What is the movie a x. l. about?

A.X.L. is a about a robotic dog that has advanced artificial intelligence created by the military. After an experiment gone wrong, A.X.L. is discovered by Alex, who finds a way to connect with the robot. They soon develop a special friendship. A.X.L. goes to any length to protect his new companion.