What is lynyrd skynyrd's real name?

Lynyrd Skynyrd is the name of a band from the late 1970s. As one of the forerunners of Southern Fried Rock, the loss of 3 band members in an airplane crash was mourned far and wide. The band rebooted later with Johnny Van Zant as lead singer, continuing the band's success several more years.