Who invented the gadsden flag?

The flag is named after politician Christopher Gadsden (1724–1805), who designed it in 1775 during the American Revolution. It was used by the Continental Marines as an early motto flag. Its design proclaims an assertive warning of vigilance and willingness to act in defense against coercion.