How high can the u. v. index go?

The UV index is a 1 to 11 plus scale, with 11 and above being the highest number on the index. A UV Index reading of 11 or more means extreme risk of harm from unprotected sun exposure. Take all precautions because unprotected skin and eyes can burn in minutes.