What's the difference between heavy whipping cream and whole milk?

When cows are milked, the cream rises to the top and is skimmed off during processing. Whole milk typically contains no more than 3.25% milk fat, but heavy whipping cream is much fattier, with at least 30% fat. The USDA defines heavy cream as at least 36% milk fat.