What kind of fish is uni?

Uni is not a fish. Within a sea urchin is five slightly firm strips, the uni, which is sometimes referred to as sea urchin roe. They're not really roe because that means eggs. The five strips within the sea urchin's shell are usually orange or yellowish.

---

Uni is a world-class delicacy—and one of the more unexpected foods to come from Japan. Sometimes referred to as the sea urchin's roe, or eggs, uni is actually the creature's gonads, and the edible portion of the spiny sea urchin.