What was the longest running sitcom in america?

"Gunsmoke" (20 years) The Western started as a radio series in 1952. The TV series began in 1955 and aired 635 episodes over the span of 20 years. It currently holds the record as the longest-running scripted US primetime TV series, but will soon be surpassed by "The Simpsons."