Did thomas edison electrocute animals?

It is arguably the most famous animal execution ever—the killing of Topsy the elephant at Luna Park on Coney Island in January 1903. ... Edison has therefore been accused of torturing Topsy in order to satisfy his ego and further his commercial interests.