What is the word l. e. d. e. mean?

The word "lede," spelled L-E-D-E, refers to the opening sentence or paragraph of a news story, which summarizes the story's most important facts. The expression "bury the lede" means to put that summary later in the article.

---

The word "lede" means the opening sentence or paragraph of a news article, summarizing the most important aspects of the story.