Why did anakin skywalker join the dark side?

He was treated as an Outcast. Anakin feared it was the only way to save Padme. He had dreams of her dieing. Senator Palpatine was filling his mind with ideas of Sith Lords that used the dark power to heal and save others, and in the end he enslaved Anakin and forced him to the dark side.