What do movie ratings mean?

Rated G: General audience, All ages admitted. Rated PG: Parental guidance, Some material may not be suitable for children. Rated PG-13: Parents strongly cautioned, Some material may be inappropriate for children under 13. Rated R: Restricted, Under 17 requires accompanying parent or adult guardian.